Song(s) of the Week

July 3, 2013 § Leave a comment

Been a little MIA lately, but it doesn’t mean I haven’t been listening to music. Here are THREE whole songs featured.

I went to two concerts in three days, somehow.

Concert 1: She & Him. The collaborative band between M. Ward and Zooey Deschanel. They’ve successfully put out four albums, Volume 1, 2, 3 and their Christmas album. I discovered them three summers ago, while strongly familiar with M. Ward’s music and gaily getting to know Zooey as her career was only exponentially growing to fame-dom.  Their concert was fabulous, however Zooey being a bit on the shy-and-not-really-moving side of performances I’ve seen. Forget that though, their newest album has such an upbeat tone, but some sad lyrics that tell the story of her divorce with Ben Gibbard.

I sacrifice myself at the altar of someone else’s love for me
No, that doesn’t comfort me.

Listen to the song, and all of the others on Volume 3, for a bittersweet sound of summer and love and its sad endings.

I’ve Got Your Number, Son – She & Him

Concert 2: Caravan Palace. French electro-swing, basically. What a fun band and a FUN concert. The French know how to party, and put on a good show. The singer, Zoe Colotis, I have a little crush on her now. Such an adorable performer and cutest outfitS award. She changed 3 separate times. The crowd was wild the whole time, throwing their hands in the air, dancing every style of dance you can think of, including my manfriend and myself. It ended earlier than I was ready for, but I’m so glad we caught them in performance. (House of Blues)

Glory of Nelly – Caravan Palace

Song 3: A hidden gem given to me by the manfriend – An Ella Fitzgerald remix perfect for our up and coming humid hot summer days. At least that’s what summer should be giving us, right?

Too Darn Hot – Ella Fitzgerald (RAC Mix)

Happy July!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Song(s) of the Week at oolretaw.

meta

