My Aunt Dee

August 6, 2013 § 3 Comments

Yesterday the Waterloo family was at a great loss – my grandmother’s sister, Dee Lengyel, passed away.

The day was rough and overcast, I knew something was up when I spilled yogurt all over my lap when I got into work. A few hours later I received an email after a longer chain saying Aunt Dee had passed away after days of health issues, dying quietly and peacefully. She is now with her husband, Chuck, and many other relatives we’ve unfortunately lost over the years.

It hit me hard. Every hour I would choke up at my desk, remembering of her smile and beauty, her innocence, and outright joy. I was able to visit her two summers ago at her house in Culver City, CA with my dad. She was always so hospitable, and as an architect, I was obsessed with the design of her house. She always was in town for Christmas, other important holidays and parties celebrating the successes of our family members. She was always happy, only had smiles on her face, and to me was a beautiful flower. I decided to pick these hydrangeas up for her yesterday, in her honor, as a memorial of her beauty, because that’s how I remember her as. Every time you see a flower, think of Dee.

RIP Aunt Dee, we miss you!

IMG_20130805_074750

Dee on the left, with her sister/my grandmother, Shirley on the right. picture by Claudia Tornquist

“The worst thing about death is the mourning of those that are left behind”

Tagged: , , ,

§ 3 Responses to My Aunt Dee

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Aunt Dee at oolretaw.

meta

