3 months off

September 4, 2013 § 1 Comment

Wednesday, September 4: If you could take three months off from your current life and do anything in the world, what would you do?

I’m assuming this would be a paid 3 month leave, and money is not a question.

Month 1, Europe

Week 1: I would first jet back to Paris, and roam the streets I used to live.

Pâtisserie Odette

source

Week 2, 3: I would fly then to Ireland, starting at Galway, and drive around Ireland visiting castles, rolling hills, walking, running, pubs, everything.

Cliffs on Inis Meain (Inish Maan) Island, Aran Islands.  In the book 'The Aran Islands: A World of Stone' from O'Brien Press, it states, 'Inishmore, Inishmaan, Inisheer: wild, isolated, starkly beautiful and of great historical importance. Lying in the Atlantic Ocean off Galway Bay, the Aran Islands are a place apart. Here island life has preserved many aspects of Irish culture - its language, customs and traditions. These islands bear witness to events from earliest times.

source

Benbulben in County Sligo, Ireland

Week 4 would be divided between Praha and Istanbul.

Prague/Praha : Ruelle

source

Istanbul. Visited when I was young, but I still remember it well.

no source

Month 2, Africa

Week 5, exploring Africa, Morocco

Morocco Markets | Listed as one of my favorite places to visit - vote for me to travel and volunteer around the globe! http://www.bestjobaroundtheworld.com/submissions/view/6797 #GetawayDiscoverGiveback #GADGB #Morocco

no source

Week 6, Egypt

I have been obsessed with Egyptian history for years.  I actually minored in history just so I could take all the Egyptian history classes offered by Clemson.  One of these days I intend to visit!

source

Week 7, Go back to Uganda

photo taken by me

Week 8, Cape Town, South Africa

Bo-Kaap, Cape Town.  SA (The "Malay Quarter") Famous for their spicy foods.

source

Month 3, America

I would spend my last month camping and exploring the Pacific Northwest. I want a retreat, a moment of recluse from my long travels, to get back in touch with myself. Be surrounded by nature, greenery, trees, birds and animals. I’d try to refrain from visiting the cities, but knowing me, I’ll need a coffee break. And I love Portland. And have never been to Seattle.

<3

no source

.

source

.

source

source

.

source

Canon Beach (by Meg Brooke)

source

What would you do?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to 3 months off

  • Emma Kearney says:

    Month 1:

    Go on a 2-week sea kayak adventure along the coast of Fiji, followed by a week of relaxation on a nearby island resort and a miscellaneous week of exploration.

    Month 2:

    Fly to Australia and work for a koala/sloth sanctuary where I would learn about the animals and how to care for them. Zip-lining, bungee jumping, and safari rides would also be on the itinerary.

    Month 3:

    Make pit-stops in different cities throughout Europe. The list would include but not limit to Barcelona, Venice, Cannes, Hamburg, Dublin, London, Edinburgh, Vienna, Istanbul, and Athens. Avoiding tourist traps would be key and to explore the local music-foodie-fashion-social scenes.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 3 months off at oolretaw.

meta

