Selfie / an architect

October 23, 2013 § 2 Comments

1393138_3276038577041_122416287_n

Fulton Market, 10.23.13

I had a weird revelation today about the process to become an architect. Never will I realize how hard this has been, unless it’s all built up inside of me and I explode alone or in front of someone else (preferably alone). I thought maybe 5 years at a tech school would have been a good success, which it was. I wish I went back to school with the knowledge I know now, for then I knew nothing. That’s how it always is.

A paper degree isn’t enough, nor is graduating into a shitty market and settling for a job you’re overqualified for. 8 interviews later, I’ll end up at a beautiful firm with happy management, never kicking me down.

Maybe I’m a little further than halfway, which feels hopeful.

What’s next is the equivalent of another 3 years of working, 8-5, some days so boring I could die, and others so stressful I wonder why I don’t age quicker. I’m more than halfway there, but the last stressor, the big one, is like an obstacle course with the highest of walls and steepest of ladders.

The tests. Not only dealing with the stresses of adulthood, do I have to slap on a happy face, deal with the curve balls of life at my desk, but I have to gather energy at 6 pm to go home and learn some more. 0 down, 7 more to pass, and they only get harder. I’m not as young as I used to be. It’s hard to retain information, and it’ll only become more impossible.

The sad part about this? I feel like I still know nothing. At the end of this road, I’ll wish I could start it over again with the knowledge I know by then.

By then I will collapse on the floor for a few hours, sleep, celebrate, and truck along. Let’s hope the market doesn’t crash

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Selfie / an architect

  • Stunning Selfie! And remember most things in life that are worth having are not easy to obtain and hindsight is always 20 20.

  • Angella says:

    I feel the same way! I’m not even done with school and it’s a constant battle of love for the field and having overwhelming feelings of this is SO MUCH INFORMATION.. How will I ever learn it all? Keep working hard Becca. It will pay off :)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Selfie / an architect at oolretaw.

meta

